Homago Post #8 Messing around with Kami

I found my golden ticket! I was so excited to work with kami. This took everything I have been looking for in an app/extension for students to show work and made it into a reality.

Kami is an extension for Google Chrome. It has a free trial that lasts an extensive amount of time so it is easy to use and then later purchase if found necessary. Kami connects with Google Classroom, and Google Drive, so for teachers already using these this is perfect.

Kami can make any PDF into an editable worksheet. This was different than other apps I tried because it can be many pages. The app makes it very easy to split PDF’s by pages as well using a split and merge tool. You can drag the pages into separate groups, and use those as separate assignments or worksheets. This was very helpful for me because my online resources for my curriculum can be downloaded by session or by lesson. I can easily split the lesson pages the way I want them without having to split the PDF before uploading it.

Some of the fantastic tools that Kami has:

Drawing tool: Like many other of the apps you are able to draw using your mouse after clicking on the drawing tool.

Text box: You can add text boxes anywhere on the document, you can choose color and size all in the tool.

Equation button!!! My savior for this challenge! This amazing tool makes it so easy to use any math symbol imaginable (or at least the ones I have to use have all been there). You can make fractions easily without having to click back on the symbols by just typing the / button. The only downer is when using the text box you cannot do equations in the same box, but it has to be separate, which does not cause many problems.

Shapes: You can use lines, and other shapes and make them your own. I have found this very helpful for making models.

Speech to text: Super helpful for students that struggle with typing!

Dictionary: They can look up words right in the document

Markup: Highlighter tool has two options: To highlight text (which does work with whatever text is on the document already, and text you input as well. There is also a group markup where you can click and drag the highlighter over whatever you want.

Kami is my tool 🙂

Leave a Reply